Skip to content

Progress Towards Building EV Charging Network using Federal Dollars Varies by State

The Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act passed in 2021 allocated $7.5 billion towards building a national EV charging network. Each state assumes responsibility for spending those funds and implementation oversight. As expected, the current status this endeavor varies by state.

  • No EV charger installed using these federal funds are operational yet.
  • Two states (Ohio and Pennsylvania) have begun construction.
  • Six states (Alaska, Colorado, Hawaii, Kentucky, Maine, and Utah) have awarded contracts for charging sites.
  • Fifteen states (Alabama, Arkansas, California, Delaware, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia) and Puerto Rico have solicited bids.
  • Twenty-seven states (Arizona, Connecticut, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oregon, South Carolina, South Dakota, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming) and D.C. haven't begun soliciting bids yet (New York, Nevada, and Vermont are rewarding initial contracts outside of a public bidding process)

Click here to read an in-depth analysis.